Spring Creek grabs another honor

Spring Creek - Alex Johnstone, Jessica Smith, Taylor Sims, Chris ElliottColorado’s Spring Creek has another trophy for their mantle. On top of winning the band competitions at both the RockyGrass and Telluride festivals in 2007, they have now been named as the winners of the Vox Populi award from online viewers in the 2007 Independent Music Awards.

Their song, High Up in the Mountains, was chosen in the Americana category in this “people’s choice” component of the annual competition, hosted by Music Resource Group. More than 37,000 votes were cast online, and the band tells us that they were the only bluegrass band in this voting category.

The band consists of Chris Elliott on banjo, Alex Johnstone on fiddle and mandolin, Taylor Sims on guitar and Jessica Smith on bass. All four band members sing.

You can hear their winning song on the band’s web site or MySpace page.

Congratulations Spring Creekers!

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.