Special Awards Luncheon

We’re here at the IBMA Special Awards Luncheon. I’ll try to keep up with the presentations. I’m already a bit behind as the event is currently underway.

The event began with IBMA president, Greg Cahill presenting plaques to the outgoing IBMA board members: Lee Michael Dempsey, Tim Stafford, Stephanie P. Ledgin, and Alan Munde.

Next up, came Richard Tucker to share news of the current state of The Bluegrass Foundation. Then Roger Siminoff took the stage to recognize the members of Leadership Bluegrass 2008.

Award presentations begin with Lance Leroy presenting and IBMA Distinguished Achievement Award to Art Menius. Art spent many years as Marketing and Sponsorship Director of MerleFest. He is now the director of the Appalshop.

Alison Brown is now presenting two awards. The first is the award for Best Liner Notes for Recorded Project. And the winner is…

Gary Reid for The Stanley Brothers: The Definitive Collection (1947-1966), The Stanley Brothers, Time Life.

Now Alison is presenting the Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project. And the winner is…

Gary Carr & Sarah Holman – What The, by Peter Wernick & Flexigrass, Niwot Records

Larry Stephenson is now taking the stage to present a Distinguished Achievement Award to Bill Harrell.

John and I have now been called on stage to present the award for Print Media Person of the Year. The award goes to…

Chris Stuart, freelance writer for Bluegrass Unlimited

Tony Trischka is on stage now presenting another Distinguished Achievement Award. This one goes to Banjo Newsletter.

Chris Jones is now presenting the award for Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year. The award goes to…

Kyle Cantrell, Bluegrass Junction, XM Satellite Radio

Next up, Eddie Stubbs is presenting a Distinguished Achievement Award to the Ernest Tubb Record Shop.

Bob Cornett is no on stage presenting the award for Bluegrass Event of the Year. The winner is…

29th Annual Thomas Point Beach Bluegrass Festival; Brunswick, Maine; August 30 – September 2, 2007

Mike Bub has taken the stage to present the final Distinguished Achievement Award for the year. This one going to Alan Munde and Joe Carr. As an alumni of South Plains College, this presentation holds special meaning to me. These two men did so much to mentor me as I embarked on the first stages of my exploration of bluegrass music. Alan’s acceptance speach was typically witty and humourus while at the same time bringing tears of remembrance to my eyes.

Mr. Cahill is now back on stage wrapping things up for this luncheon. John and will be online throughout the day providing further updates from IBMA 2008.