New release from Chatham County Line

The latest CD from Chatham County Line, Speed of the Whippoorwill, was released in late May of 2006, and features 14 new original songs in the style that they like to call “new traditionalism.” Like many young bands in and around bluegrass music, their sound owes much to influences other than the bluegrass masters, but they don’t like to be labeled as a newgrass or jamgrass band.

Their goal is expressed as finding a way to blend older and newer sounds, and can include old time influences with a style that is intentionally sparse.

Chatham County Line are Dave Wilson (vocals, acoustic guitar), John Teer (vocals, mandolin, fiddle), Chandler Holt (banjo, vocals), and Greg Readling (bass, vocals, pedal steel). Audio samples from the new CD can be found on the Yep Roc Records web site, and you can find their performance schedule on the Chatham County Line site.

They also have some concert video you can view online (scroll down the page for the video.).

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.