Jake Workman releases 20 Flatpick Standards, Vol. 2

Like so many bluegrass artists during the recent pandemic shutdowns, Jake Workman, hot shot guitar slinger with Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, turned his attention to offering online instruction when work was scarce.

Now that touring and live performance is back without restrictions, Jake has maintained his online presence as a teacher, giving lessons on guitar, mandolin, and banjo. He also does custom transcription, and has published a number of guitar tabs, available on his web site.

Last month Jake released a second volume of his 20 Flatpick Standards book, with highly melodic arrangements of tunes every bluegrass guitarist needs to know. Like the first, Vol. 2 includes 20 selections, mostly fiddle tunes, in a variety of keys.

We won’t promise that this digital tab book will give you the speed or dexterity that Workman displays on stage and in the studio, but anyone trying to build a flatpicking repertoire will surely gain some new ideas and techniques while adding to their catalog with Flatpicking Standards Vol. 2.

Included are guitar tabs and links to digital audio for the following:

  • Alabama Jubilee
  • Big Sandy River
  • Bill Cheatham
  • Cold Frosty Morning
  • Denver Belle
  • East Tennessee Blues
  • Fisher’s Hornpipe
  • Forked Deer
  • Home Sweet Home
  • June Apple
  • Leather Britches
  • Monroe’s Hornpipe
  • New Camptown Races
  • Over the Waterfall
  • Paddy on the Turnpike
  • Ragtime Annie 
  • Reuben
  • Temperance Reel
  • Turkey in the Straw
  • Wildwood Flower

Jake gives a brief description in this video.

Flatpicking Standards Vol.2 is available for sale on Jake’s web site for $60.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.