Del and Texas Shorty receive National Heritage Fellowships

The National Endowment for the Arts has announced the 2010 recipients of their National Heritage Fellowships, and they have once again chosen to honor artists who have made lasting contributions to bluegrass and traditional American string music.

Both Del McCoury and Texas Shorty (Jim Chancellor) are on the 2010 list, and will be honored at the Library of Congress, and at a special concert on September 24 in Bethesda, MD. They will also receive a one-time award of $25,000.

For his part, McCoury, is a bit flabbergasted by the honor.

“All I’ve ever done is play the music I love. I feel very fortunate to have made a career of it.

To receive an honor like this for doing something you love just doesn’t seem real, but I am very thankful.”

Other 2010 honorees include Ghanaian percussionist Yacub Addy, Hawaiian weaver Gladys Kukana Grace, basketweaver Mary Jackson, Indian dancer Kamala Lakshmi Narayanan, Irish folk flautist Mike Rafferty, and Afro-Cuban drum maker Ezequiel Torres.

In the past 25 years years, the NEA has bestowed this lifetime achievement award to Mike Seeger, Mac Wiseman, Doyle Lawson, Jean Ritchie, Jim & Jesse McReynolds, Bill Monroe, Earl Scruggs, Ralph Stanley, Ola Belle Reed, Wayne Henderson, Kenny Baker, Wayne Mainer and Johnny Gimble.

Congratulations Del and Shorty!

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.