Woodshop – new from Marshall & Anger

Woodshop - Mike Marshall & Darol AngerThe latest release from Mike Marshall & Darol Anger, Woodshop, is released today on Adventure Music.

In addition to Anger on violins and Marshall on mandolins and guitar, the new project also features Phil Aaberg on piano, Aaron Johnston on percussion, and the round robin of Todd Phillips, Michael Manring and Todd Sickafoose on bass.

The premise of this recording, the first by this pair since 2002, was to revisit the format from their popular 1985 release, Chiaroscuro. All the music is instrumental, and was written by Anger or Marshall. It is far more structured than their free form duo shows, with multiple overdubs and a focus on sonic purity in their visions for this new music.

We weren’t able to find much info on the Adventure Music, Mike Marshall or Darol Anger sites, but Amazon has a complete set of audio clips with online ordering enabled.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.