Signs from Special Consensus

Special Consensus - David Thomas, Ashby Frank, Greg Cahill, Justin CarboneWe heard this morning from Ashby Frank, mandolinist with Special Consensus, with some further details about the band’s next release.

He says that they have only recently finished recording (at Brent Truitt’s studio in Nashville) with guest appearances by Tim Crouch on fiddle, Randy Kohrs on resophonic guitar and Sonya Isaacs on harmony vocals.

Special Consensus is made up of founding member Greg Cahill on banjo, Justin Carbone on guitar, David Thomas on bass and Frank on mandolin.

Much of the material comes from within the band. Justin co-wrote three songs, and Ashby two. There is also a new instrumental co-authored by Frank and Cahill. Other featured writers include Ronnie Bowman, Don Cook, Curly Putman, Adam and Shannon Wright, Ron Spears, Don Reid, Troy Engle, Becky Buller and Jake Landers.

The title of the new CD will be Signs, and an early ’09 release is expected on Pinecastle.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.