Rattle & Roar coming from The Earls

rattleThe Earls of Leicester, headed up by Jerry Douglas, will continue their romp through the music of Flatt & Scruggs with a second album of classic songs in July.

Rattle & Roar, like their self-titled debut, is a collection of numbers performed by Lester & Earl during their heyday, reproduced by these bluegrass masters for a new generation of fans. The Earls are Jerry Douglas on reso-guitar, Shawn Camp on guitar and lead vocals, Jeff White on mandolin, Barry Bales on bass, Charlie Cushman on banjo, and Johnny Warren on fiddle.

Songs featured on the new project include:

  • The Train That Carried My Girl from Town
  • Why Did You Wander?
  • All I Want Is You
  • Steel Guitar Blues intro
  • Steel Guitar Blues
  • You Can Feel It in Your Soul
  • A Faded Red Ribbon
  • Just Ain’t
  • Mother Prays Loud In Her Sleep
  • I’m Working On A Road (To Glory Land)
  • Will You Be Lonesome Too?
  • Flint Hill Special
  • What’s Good for You (Should Be Alright for Me)
  • The Girl I Love Don’t Pay Me No Mind
  • Branded Wherever I Go

For Douglas, The Earls are a mission of preservation and recruitment.

“I hope people who don’t know Flatt and Scruggs hear this and think it’s totally new music. Then, I hope they find out what we’re doing and go out and buy every Flatt and Scruggs record they can find.”

Look for Rattle & Roar from Rounder Records on July 15. Pre-orders are enabled now online.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.