Pickin’ On the ACM Awards

A number of bluegrass artists are up for awards from the Academy Of Country Music when they are presented on May 23. Rob Ickes (dobro) and Bryan Sutton (guitar) are nominated in the Top Specialty Instrument Player of the Year category, and both Glen Duncan and Aubrey Haynie are nominated for Top Fiddle Player of the Year.

The ACM Awards will be telecast on CBS at 8:00 p.m. (5/23), and while we hope to see a mention of these instrumentalist awards, they will not be presented during the televised portion of the program – what the ACM describes as Off-Camera Nominations.

Best of luck to all our bluegrass music representatives!

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.