New IIIrd Tyme Out single on the way

IIIrd Tyme OutRussell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out are set to release a single from their upcoming, self-titled Rural Rhythm album on March 3.

The song, Hard Rock Mountain Prison (‘Til I Die) – written by Ray Edwards, Larry Cox and Terry Foust – is being shipped to radio now, and will be offered for sale through popular online digital distributors on 3/3.

Here’s a taste of the song, typical of the band’s straight ahead bluegrass style:


It is included on the recent Rural Rhythm radio sampler, Fresh Cuts & Key Tracks #4, and will available for download by broadcasters via next week.

The new IIIrd Tyme Out project will hit on May 19, their first full studio release in nearly five years, and their 15th since the band started performing in 1991.

Current cast includes founder Russell Moore on guitar and lead vocals, Steve Dilling on banjo, Wayne Benson on mandolin, Justen Haynes on fiddle and Edgar Loudermilk on bass.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.