Kathy Mattea, Hot Rize to host 2009 IBMA Awards

Kathy MatteaThe International Bluegrass Music Association has announced that Kathy Mattea and Hot Rize will be the co-hosts of the 2009 IBMA Awards Show.

There have been a few years where hosting duties were split between a number of co-hosts, but this marks the first year that a full band has served in that capacity. Hot Rize consists of Pete Wernick, Tim O’Brien, Nick Forster and Bryan Sutton.

Professional members of the IBMA are through the second round of three ballots in 17 categories, with awards announced and distributed at the show. It will be held on October 1 at the Ryman Auditorium during IBMA’s week long World Of Bluegrass event.

Hot Rize - Pete Wernick, Nick Forster, Tim O'Brien, Bryan SuttonThis is always a gala affair, and a feel-good night for bluegrass music. Bluegrass Today will be on hand again this year providing live blog coverage, and posting photos from the show.

We encourage anyone who cares about bluegrass music to make a point to attend the Awards Show when you can make it fit your schedule.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.