John Hartford compilation from Rounder

John Hartford - Good'le DaysRounder is preparing to release a compilation project of John Hartford’s music on September 22.

Entitled, Good’le Days: Essential Recordings, the new CD is part of Rounder’s budget-minded Perfect 10 Series, each of which includes ten tracks from an important Rounder artist. They show the selling price online as $7.99.

How would you like to pick just ten tracks to represent the music of such a legend? Well, here’s what Ken Irwin and Marian Levy came up with…

  • Skippin’ in the Mississippi Dew
  • Gum Tree Canoe
  • Gentle on My Mind
  • Lorena
  • In Tall Buildings
  • The Vamp from Back in the Goddle Days
  • Wrong Road Again
  • Good Old Electric Washing Machine — circa 1943
  • Take Me Back to My Mississippi River Home
  • Old Time River Man

The tracks were taken from recordings Hartford did for the Flying Fish label between 1976 and 1989. They include featured performances from guest artists and frequent Hartford collaborators Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Mark O’Conner, Roy Huskey Jr., Benny Martin, Norman Blake, Vassar Clements and Tut Taylor.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.