Joe Diffie – Homecoming

Back in the late summer of 2008, we first shared news about country crooner Joe Diffie making a return to bluegrass music, from whence he came before Nashville made him a star in the 1990s. Rounder signed him to a contract, which involved them first releasing a greatest hits compilation project, The Ultimate Collection, which hit in October of ’09.

Joe had worked the Oklahoma and Texas bluegrass circuit with Special Edition as a young man, along with Billy Joe Foster, who later played with both Country Gazette and Ricky Skaggs. After Special Edition, Diffie headed for Music City where he eventually charted 12 #1 songs, many of them his own compositions.

His bluegrass project, Homecoming, is due on August 24 recorded with a core band of Aubrey Haynie on fiddle, Bryan Sutton on guitar, Charlie Cushman on banjo, Mike Compton on mandolin and Rob Ickes on resonator guitar. Guest vocalists include Rhonda Vincent, Bradley Walker, Alecia Nugent and Sonya Isaacs. The Grascals also join Joe for a song.

Here is the track list:

  • Somehow Tonight
  • Lonesome and Dry as a Bone
  • Tall Cornstalk
  • Fit For a King
  • Route 5 Box 109
  • Rainin’ On Her Rubber Dolly
  • I Know How It Feels
  • Tennessee Tea
  • Free and Easy
  • Stormy Weather Once Again
  • ’Til Death
  • Hard To Handle

Rounder has updated a “making of” video which was first released in ’08, with more scenes from the studio and input from the artist. Looks like it will be a winner.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.