Gospel Plowboys to Mountain Fever

The Gospel Plowboys - photo by Mike LaneMountain Fever Records has announced the signing of the Gospel Plowboys to the label, with a new album, Welcome Home, due in June.

The North Carolina Band consists of David Murph on mandolin, John Goodson on banjo, Michael Jenkins on guitar, David Brown on guitar and bass, Andrew Brown on bass and dobro, and Kris Miller on guitar.

Murph says that when they started looking for a label, Mountain Fever seemed like an obvious choice.

“As a bluegrass gospel ministry, we were praying and doing research for where to do our next recording project, and Mark Hodges’ and Mountain Fever’s names came up quite frequently. After listening to some of the music Mountain Fever was releasing, and then speaking with Mark, it was easy to understand why people had good things to say. I have been involved in music some 40 years, but to be included in a lineup of so many stellar groups is a blessing that I personally didn’t think would ever happen for me!”

The new album will feature a selection of Gospel songs drawn from the rich catalog of the Southern church, and a sampling of new material from top writers.

Look for Welcome Home on June 10.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.