Crooked Road releases live recordings from 2015 MOMH

The Live Concert RecordingsThe Crooked Road, Virginia’s Heritage Music Trail, has released a set of live recordings captured during the 2015 Mountains of Music Homecoming, the first year of their 10 day traveling festival with concerts and folk arts demonstrations at more than 25 locations in southwestern Virginia.

That the album is hitting on the eve of year two of the Homecoming is no coincidence. Crooked Road management not only wanted to have last year’s CD available during the 2016 events, they also hope that it will help drive interest in this year’s schedule.

Jack Hinshelwood, Executive Director of The Crooked Road, said that they recorded almost every live musical event last year, and that they are delighted with what they have on the CD, The Live Concert Recordings.

Jack Hinshelwood“I was very pleasantly surprised at the recording quality since recording live is such a challenge. I guess when you have over 70 hours of recordings to choose from you’re bound to have a killer project – and if this ain’t a killer project I’ll eat my Crooked Road hat!”

The CD offers 18 tracks taken from both top national touring artists in the bluegrass and old time communities, as well as those from regional favorites.

  • Amethyst Kiah – Darlin’ Corey
  • The Boxcars – Big Spike Hammer
  • Blue Highway – Lonesome Pine
  • The Glorylanders of New River Valley – Gone At Last
  • New Ballards Branch Bogtrotters – Old Jimmy Sutton
  • The Seldom Scene – Fair and Tender Ladies
  • Tyler Hughes – On The Banks Of The Old Tennessee
  • Close Kin – Pluckin’ the Hen
  • Coign – Under Ceilidh Pressure
  • Frank Newsmen – I’m a Child of the King
  • Ralph Stanley II – Bluefield
  • Kitty and the Stray Cats – Lonesome Polly Ann
  • Sandy Shortridge – Same Ole Dipper
  • Jeff Brown & Still Lonesome – Little Maggie
  • Dale Jett – Andersonville
  • Billy Baker & the Bluegrass Kinsmen – Pike County Breakdown
  • Wolfe Bros. String Band – John Lover’s Gone
  • Lonesome River Band – Somebody’s Missing You

The Live Concert Recordings will be available at all the 2016 MOMH shows, starting with this weekend’s kickoff at HoustonFest in Galax. It will also be available for download and CD purchase from CD Baby starting next week.

Both me and my Bluegrass Today partner, Terry Herd, will be attending some of these shows over the next two weeks. Be sure to stop and say howdy if you see us in the crowd!

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.