Brotherhood coming in February

brotherhoodRounder Records has announced February 24, 2015 as the release date for Brotherhood, their first project with The Gibson Brothers. The title refers to the album’s concept, which is a tribute to the many great brother duet teams that have paved the way for what Eric and Leigh Gibson are doing today.

Most fans know the Gibsons for their original material, but Brotherhood marks the first release that doesn’t feature a single one of their songs. The ones they’ve chosen here express their admiration for iconic acts like The Monroe Brothers, The Everly Brothers, The Louvin Brothers, Jim & Jesse, The Stanley Brothers, The Blue Sky Boys, and more.

Leigh Gibson says that returning to the music of his childhood had a profound impact.

“These are the acts that pointed us in our direction musically. After we got going, we went our own way for a while. But the process of making this record brought us back to the music we were listening to when we were just getting started. So many of these songs, when we sing them, I feel like I did when I was 15 years old, sitting in our living room in the farmhouse and learning how to play. This music is a part of our soul.”

Most of the music was recorded with the Gibson’s touring band: Jesse Brock on mandolin, Mike Barber on bass, and Clayton Campbell on fiddle, with Eric on banjo and Leigh on guitar. They are joined by special guests Rob and Ronnie McCoury, and Ronnie Reno.

For anyone who has followed the history of bluegrass and traditional country music, this track listing is bound to include a couple of favorites.

  1. Bye Bye Love
  2. The Sweetest Gift
  3. An Angel with Blue Eyes
  4. Each Season Changes You
  5. I Have Found the Way
  6. How Mountain Girls Can Love
  7. It’ll Be Her
  8. What A Wonderful Savior Is He
  9. Long Gone
  10. Eastbound Train
  11. Sweet Little Miss Blue Eyes
  12. Seven Year Blues
  13. Long Time Gone
  14. I’m Troubled I’m Troubled
  15. Crying In the Rain

Pre-orders for CDs are enabled now for delivery in February.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.