Bill Yates & Friends – Country Gentlemen Tribute # 2

Bill Yates & Friends - Country Gentlemen Tribute Volume IIMastershield Records has released a second volume from Bill Yates where he reprises some of the classic songs from The Country Gentlemen. Bill was a member of the band for 20 years, and his first Country Gentlemen tribute CD was warmly received by their legions of fans.

Bill plays bass and sings (just as he did with the Gents), with assistance from Darren Beachley on guitar and vocals, Kevin Church on banjo and vocals, Dave Propst on mandolin and vocals, Mark Clifton on resonator guitar, Mike Phipps on vocals, and Terry Pearson and Dave MacGlashan on bass.

The songs will all be familiar to long-time followers of The Country Gentlemen.

  • Joe’s Last Train
  • Darby Castle
  • One Morning In May
  • I’d Rather Live By The Side Of The Road
  • Willow Creek Dam
  • Dark As A Dungeon
  • Meet Me Over On The Other Side
  • Bringing Mary Home
  • Matterhorn
  • The Old Pine Tree
  • Fox On The Run
  • Legend Of The Rebel Soldier
  • It’s Just Like Heaven
  • Traveling Kind

Several audio samples can be found on Bill’s MySpace page.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.