#6 from Dailey & Vincent coming in May

Brothers Of The Highway - Dailey & VincentRounder Records has announced May 7 as the release date for Brothers Of The Highway, the 6th album from Dailey & Vincent. “Getting back to their roots” is how Rounder describes the project in their press announcement, with a double meaning sure to thrill their bluegrass fans.

Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent have spent their careers performing in the bluegrass world, both before and since they came together to launch their eponymous group. Jamie helped redefine the sound of Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver during his 9 years with the band, and Darrin complemented Ricky Skaggs’ vocals singing the third part in his trios for 10 years with Kentucky Thunder.

When the new band hit in 2007, they released a pair of stellar albums chock full of stylish and aggressive bluegrass. More recently, though, their records were themed a bit outside the fold with a project for Cracker Barrell that celebrated the music of The Statler Brothers, and another showing The Gospel Side of Dailey & Vincent. Both included a healthy share of bluegrass, but left many of their devoted, early fans hungry for more.

And here it comes. This next project marks a return to the sort of bluegrass and Gospel mix that propelled these boys to stardom in short order. Dailey was upfront about their thinking this time out.

“When it was time to record this album, Darrin and I knew exactly what we wanted it to be. We both agreed that it was time to record a straight-ahead Bluegrass record consisting of a blend of original songs and songs from the past that we absolutely love. We know where we came from, and we know where we want to go. We feel this record is in step with our musical dreams, and we are excited for people to hear it!”

And Vincent pointed to the other way this record gets back to their roots.

“We wanted to make an album about the joys of a simple way of life and tell stories through descriptive lyrics about friends, family, and love. I am so proud of this album. From the bottom of my heart, I hope you enjoy these songs as much as we enjoyed performing them for you.”

Brothers Of The Highway was recorded with the Dailey & Vincent touring group: Jeff Parker on mandolin, Jessie Baker on banjo, B.J. Cherryholmes on fiddle, and Christian Davis on bass vocals, along with Jamie on guitar and Darrin on bass. Guest performances are also included from Johnny Beller on reso-guitar, Molly Cherryholmes on fiddle, Mike Compton on mandolin, Joe Dean on banjo, Andy Leftwich on fiddle, mandolin and mandocello, Bryan Sutton on guitar, and Jimmy Fortune on vocal.

Rounder released a track list this morning as well.

  • Steel Drivin’ Man (Jamie Dailey)
  • Close By (Bill Monroe/Van Winkle)
  • When I Stop Dreaming (Charlie Louvin/Ira Louvin)
  • Back To Jackson County (Jamie Dailey)
  • Brothers Of The Highway (Doug Johnson/Nicole Witt/Kim Williams)
  • Tomorrow I’ll Be Gone (Wilma Lee Cooper)
  • Hills Of Caroline (Vince Gill)
  • Big River (James Cody Shuler)
  • Howdy Neighbor Howdy (James C. Morris)
  • Won’t It Be Wonderful There (Mildred Styles Johnson)
  • Back To Hancock County (Pete Goble/Leroy Drumm)
  • Where’ve You Been (Don Henry/Jon Vezner)

Should be a good’n.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.