2009 IBMA nominees announced

The 2009 IBMA AwardsThe International Bluegrass Music Association has announced the nominees for their 2009 International Bluegrass Music Awards.

There aren’t any surprises among this list of worthies, with perennial favorites like Doyle Lawson, Del McCoury, Blue Highway, IIIrd Tyme Out, Dailey & Vincent, Dan Tyminski and Rhonda Vincent scooping up a large share of the nominations.

I do see that Lonesome River Band gets a nod in several categories. It’s good to see them listed here once again.

Comedian and banjo picker Steve Martin is also nominated as Banjo Player of the Year, a first for the wild and crazy guy.

You can see the complete list at ibma.org. Congratulations to all the nominees!

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.