Ultimate Mandolin Songbook from Janet Davis

Janet Davis has released a new mandolin instructional package, The Ultimate Mandolin Songbook. Like its companion book, The Ultimate Banjo Songbook, this new volume contains 26 popular bluegrass songs and tunes in tab and standard notation, along with a pair of audio CDs.

Multiple versions of lead breaks are given for the songs, based on degree of difficulty, and alternate licks are suggested for improvising. The solos incorporate a variety of common mandolin techniques, such as tremolo, Monroe style, fiddle style, double stops, crosspicking, triplets, and jazz style.

The two CDs feature Janet performing her arrangements for listening/learning and for playing along.

Song List:

  • Alabama Jubilee
  • Autumn Leaves
  • Dear Old Dixie
  • East Tennessee Blues
  • Eighth Of January
  • El Cumbanchero
  • Fireball Mail
  • Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  • Gold Rush
  • Great Balls Of Fire
  • How Great Thou Art
  • Jerusalem’s Ridge
  • Limehouse Blues
  • Nuages
  • Orange Blossom Special
  • Rawhide
  • Red Wing
  • Roanoke
  • Slipped Disc
  • Stardust
  • Stumbling
  • Tennessee Waltz
  • The Entertainer
  • Wheel Hoss
  • Yesterday
  • You Are My Sunshine

The Ultimate Mandolin Songbook sells for $24.95 and is published by Hal Leonard. It can be ordered through Janet Davis Music.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.