New tracks on upcoming Alison Krauss compilation

Here’s an update to our post late last week about A Hundred Miles or More: A Collection, the collection due from Rounder in April that primarily highlights Alison Krauss’ contributions to films and recordings by other artists.

We mentioned in that previous post that four new, previously unreleased tracks would also be included, but did not have many details about them to share at the time. We received some information over the weekend that sheds a bit more light on that question.

The four new tracks are You’re Just A Country Boy, Simple Love, Jacob’s Dream and Away Down The River. Rounder informed us that all four showcase Alison as the featured vocalist, and are tracks which she produced, and Barry Bales mentioned that while members of Union Station do appear at various points on these tracks, none are performed strictly with the band.

In other words, this compilation, and the new tracks specifically, can be seen as an Alison Krauss solo effort. Rounder has typically issued one like this (under Alison’s name) for every couple that are listed as AKUS CDs.

We’ll be sure to post again when audio samples show up online.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.