New faces in The New South

J.D. Crowe & The New South has two new members to announce for 2010.

Kyle Perkins has come aboard to fill the bass spot recently vacated by John Bowman (now playing fiddle with The Boxcars). Just 24 years old, Kyle had worked previously with David Parmley, Larry Stephenson and Kati Penn. He is also a talented banjo player and is comfortable on most any of the bluegrass instruments.

Also new to the band is resophonic guitarist Matt Despain. Crowe hired Matt to replace fiddler Steve Thomas, who has left the band to pursue other projects.

Matt comes from Charlie Sizemore’s group, and had also worked with Bobby Osborne, Pine Mountain Railroad and Dean Osborne before coming to The New South. He can be heard on Sizemore’s latest CD, Good News, as well as the two most recent albums from Bobby Osborne.

You can follow the JD Crowe & The New South schedule online, and keep an eye out for the new lineup somewhere near you.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.