EWOB Winners

Downtown RamblersMay is Bluegrass month and accordingly, the European Bluegrass Music Association held its 12th annual EWOB Festival in Voorthuizen, The Netherlands. One of the highlights of the EWOB festival is the voting for European Bluegrass Band of the Year. There are actually two awards given in this category. The first is voted by the performers present at the event. The second is voted by the audience present at the event.

The winner of the first award will be invited to perform at next year’s (2010) IBMA World of Bluegrass in Nashville, TN.

Here are this year’s winners.

#1 European Bluegrass Band 2009:
1. Downtown Ramblers, Sweden
2. G-Runs ‘n Roses, Czech Republic
3. Kreni, Czech Republic

Audience Popularity Award 2009
1. Blackjack, CZ
2. Bluegrass Stuff, Italy
3. Sunny Side, Czech Republic