Adams County Banjo on Radio Velvet

Adams County BanjoRadio Velvet, the 24/7 streaming bluegrass station based in the Slovak Republic, has announced a new show starring American banjo legend, Tom Adams.

Adams County Banjo will air each Wednesday at at noon (eastern US time), which is 6:00 p.m. Central European Time. A repeat will be broadcast the following Friday at 9:00 a.m. (EDT) and 3:00 p.m. (CET).

As one might expect, the focus of Tom’s show will be the five string banjo and its progenitors in bluegrass music like Earl Scruggs, Don Reno and Ralph Stanley, up to and including today’s top players like Ron Stewart, Joe Mullins, Rob McCoury, and (hopefully) Tom Adams. Vocal and instrumental music will be featured, but all with special attention to the role of the banjo in bluegrass.

Adams will also dispense tips and advice for students of the five string, both related to the solos and backup of the music on the show, and in more general terms. Tom expects to keep his banjo handy in the studio, which will be part clinic and part banjo music program.

He also plans to play recorded interviews with some of the pickers whose music will be on the show. So tune in for some great music and get a banjo lesson, or vice versa.

Radio Velvet is supported by donations from listeners. PayPal donation buttons are prominent on the site.

You can see their complete broadcast schedule online.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.