33rd Annual Central Canada Bluegrass Awards

This report on the 33rd Annual Central Canada Bluegrass Awards is a contribution from Martin Chapman.

Over the past weekend, the luxurious Deerhurst Resort near Huntsville, Ontario in the heart of Muskoka cottage country, underwent a major transformation. The Province’s most well-known indoor and outdoor sports, business and entertainment complex was turned into a down-home, indoor bluegrass festival.

The Resort was filled with the sound of bluegrass music as 26 Ontario bands and more than 700 fans turned out for three days of vendor exhibitions, workshops, jamming, concerts and the Saturday night Awards presentations.

Headline bands from the United States were Lorraine Jordan & Carolina Road and the Bluegrass Brothers.

A total of 17 Awards were handed out including the Best Overall Group which went to Traditionally Wound. The group’s lead singer Jim McNulty also walked away with the Male Vocalist of the Year Award. The Female Vocalist of the Year went to Sherry Philp, banjo player with Concession 23.

Other Award winners:

  • Disc Jockey of the Year – Dan Bieman  (CKNX Wingham, Ontario)
  • Banjo Player – Dan Campbell (Bluegrass Edition)
  • Fiddle Player – Randy Morrison (Randy Morrison and Flatt River)
  • Bass Player – Matt Nadeau (Canucky Boys)
  • Guitar Player – Marc Roy ( Hard Ryde)
  • Mandolin Player – Marc Roy (Hard Ryde)
  • Dobro Player – Doug Van  Den Kieboom (Bluegrass Edition)
  • Composer – Nick McDonald (Traditionally Wound)
  • Most Promising Group – Randy Morrison and Flatt River.
  • Instrumental Group – Traditionally Wound
  • Recording – Rural Change, Traditionally Wound
  • Vocal Group – Rhyme ‘N’ Reason
  • Gospel Group – Rhyme ‘N’ Reason
  • Entertainer- Matt Naveau (Canucky Bluegrass Boys)

The annual Central Canada Bluegrass Awards show is presented by Tony De Boer and the Northern Bluegrass Committee. It began back in 1979 and has become the event of the year for Ontario bluegrass fans.