Yonder Mountain String Band to re-release Town By Town

Jamgrass heroes Yonder Mountain String Band have announced plans to re-release their second album, Town By Town, in a special 20th Anniversary edition on 180g vinyl.

The record features the band’s founding lineup of Adam Aijala, Ben Kaufmann, Dave Johnston, and Jeff Austin, and was produced by Tim O’Brien. Several of the tracks have since become standards in the genre, like Sorrow Is A Highway which Billy Strings is currently playing in his live shows, and Peace of Mind which pops up on live sets by Greensky Bluegrass.

With this reprinting in mind, O’Brien recalls how it was back then.

“Wow, 20 years have gone by since I dove in with Yonder for a new recording. It’s a good thing to look back and see what we did and what happened since.

They were excited and determined and open-minded. I pushed them some, they pushed me some and we both learned a lot. At that time Yonder was exploding on the scene, gathering new fans like a wet snowball rolling down a black diamond slope. I doubt they knew they were carving out their own legacy. I was honored to be there with them.”

Track listing follows:

  • Rambler’s Anthem
  • Easy As Pie
  • Idaho
  • Loved You Enough
  • Sorrow Is A Highway
  • Must’ve Had Your Reasons
  • Wildewood Drive
  • New Horizons
  • Check Out Time
  • To See You Comin’ Round The Bend
  • Red Tail Lights
  • A Father’s Arms
  • Hog Potato
  • Peace Of Mind
  • Untitled Hidden Track

This special re-issue is set for release November 20 on the band’s indie label, Frog Pad Records. It can be pre-ordered online for $45.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.