SPBGMA 2012 award winners

Thanks to Gena Britt for this run down of who took home trophies at last night’s SPBGMA Awards in Nashville.

The awards are chosen by the general public, based on a printed ballot published in Bluegrass Unlimited each year. The organization does not post eligibility guidelines, or details on how nominees are chosen, and it isn’t clear if multiple ballots can be submitted by a single individual.

Nevertheless, congratulations to all the winners!

Entertaining Group of the Year – Nothin’ Fancy
Bluegrass Promoter of the Year – DA Callaway
Bluegrass Radio Station of the Year – WDVX FM, Knoxville, TN
Bluegrass DJ of the Year – Joe Mullins (WBZI-AM)
Bluegrass Album of the Year – The Gibson Brothers, Help My Brother
Instrumental Group of the Year – The Grascals
Songwriter of the Year – Leigh & Eric Gibson
Song of the Year of the Year – The Gibson Brothers, Help My Brother
Gospel Group of the Year (Contemporary) – Dailey & Vincent
Gospel Group of the Year (Traditional) – Paul Williams & Victory Trio
Vocal Group of the Year – Dailey & Vincent
Bluegrass Band of the Year (Overall) – Dailey & Vincent
Entertainer of the Year – Jamie Dailey
Banjo Performer of the Year – Kristin Scott Benson
Bass Performer of the Year – Darrin Vincent
Dobro Performer of the Year – Tim Graves
Guitar Performer of the Year – Josh Williams
Mandolin Performer of the Year – Larry Stephenson
Fiddle Perfomer of the Year – Michael Cleveland
Female Vocalist (Contemporary) – Rhonda Vincent
Female Vocalist (Traditional) – Jeanette Williams
Male Vocalist (Contemporary) – Jamie Dailey
Male Vocalist (Traditional) – James King
Hall of Greats Inductee – Kenny Ingram

The winners of the band competition were Flatt Lonesome.

We’ll have additional coverage of the SPBGMA convention later today.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.