Peter Rowan prepares for European tour

As Peter Rowan prepares to tour Europe, he is in the Compass Records’ studio recording his second album for the label.

Along with his current band, Keith Little (banjo), Paul Knight (bass) and Mike Witcher (resonator guitar), Rowan has been joined by the Travelin’ McCourys, a band that he has played with frequently in the past year; and, during other sessions, Chris Henry (mandolin), Bryan Sutton (guitar) and Michael Cleveland (fiddle). Rowan plays guitar and sings on all tracks.

A highlight so far has been Bobby Osborne and Jesse McReynolds singing two new Rowan originals My Savior is Calling Me and Mountain Man’s Dream.

Other new songs in the can are Ragged Old Dream, Stealing My Time, (co-written with John Norman), Keeping It between the Lines (Old School), That’s All She Wrote, Drop the Bone, (with David Gans) and It’s a Doc Watson D-18 Guitar Pickin Kind of a Day (with Jerry Faires).

Hopefully, Del McCoury will be able to join Rowan in the studio in the coming months.

The as-yet untitled CD is scheduled for a spring 2013 release.

Rowan’s European tour sees him accompanied by two of Europe’s best bluegrass bands Red Wine (Italy) and Druha Trava (Czech Republic).

Dates are as follows …

Peter Rowan with Red Wine

Peter Rowan with Druha Trava

  • Wednesday, November 21st – Nachod, Divadlo dr. Josefa Cizka, Czech Republic
  • Thursday, November 22nd – Brno, Delnicky dum Lisen, Czech Republic
  • Friday, November 23rd – Hranice na Morave, Divadlo Stara Strelnice, Czech Republic
  • Saturday, November 24th – Nove Mesto na Morave, kulturni dum, Czech Republic
  • Sunday, November 25th – Prague, KC Novodvorská, Czech Republic

Rowan’s manager, Al Evers, shared some further details about the tracks already completed for the new album. Peter plays guitar and sings on all of them.

  • A Mountain’s Mans Dream – Peter Rowan
    Jesse McReynolds – mandolin; Jason Carter – fiddle; Paul Knight – bass; Keith Little – banjo; Mike Witcher – dobro; (harmony Jason Carter, Chris Henry)
  • Ragged Old Dream – Peter Rowan
    Chris Henry -mandolin; Jason Carter – fiddle; Mike Witcher – dobro; Paul Knight – bass; Keith Little- banjo
  • Stealing My Time -Peter Rowan- Peter Rowan/John Norman
    Keith Little-guitar, Paul Knight-bass, Mike Witcher-dobro, Jason Carter-fiddle
  • Keeping It between the Lines (Old School)
    Ronnie McCoury – mandolin; Michael Cleveland – fiddle; Robbie McCoury – five string banjo; Alan Bartram- bass
  • Drop the Bone – Peter Rowan/David Gans
    Ronnie McCoury – mandolin; Michael Cleveland -fiddle; Robbie McCoury – five string banjo; Alan Bartram – bass
  • That’s All She Wrote
    Ronnie McCoury – mandolin; Michael Cleveland – fiddle; Robbie McCoury – five string banjo; Alan Bartram – bass
  • It’s a Doc Watson D-18 Guitar Pickin Kind of a Day – PeterRowan/Jerry Faires
    Bryan Sutton-guitar (and more but Peter couldn’t remember)
  • My Savior is Calling Me- Peter Rowan
    Bobby Osborne- mandolin, vocals, Jesse McReynolds- mandolin, vocals, Jason Carter vocals

Share this:

About the Author

Richard Thompson

Richard F. Thompson is a long-standing free-lance writer specialising in bluegrass music topics. A two-time Editor of British Bluegrass News, he has been seriously interested in bluegrass music since about 1970. As well as contributing to that magazine, he has, in the past 30 plus years, had articles published by Country Music World, International Country Music News, Country Music People, Bluegrass Unlimited, MoonShiner (the Japanese bluegrass music journal) and Bluegrass Europe. He wrote the annotated series I'm On My Way Back To Old Kentucky, a daily memorial to Bill Monroe that culminated with an acknowledgement of what would have been his 100th birthday, on September 13, 2011.