Palmer Divide – Shenandoah Train

Palmer Divide - Jody Adams, Dick Carlson, Greg Reed, Mickey StinnettColorado’s Palmer Divide is set to release a new CD, Shenandoah Train, on June 2. This will be their fourth recording project since the band was formed in 2004 with the goal of highlighting their original compositions and arrangements.

The band consists of Jody Adams on mandolin, fiddle and vocals, Dick Carlson on bass, Greg Reed on guitar, mandolin and vocals, and Mickey Stinnett on banjo, guitar, resonator guitar and vocals.

Adams is the band’s primary songwriter whose credits outside the band will make you sit up and take notice. Friday Night Lights, the hit NBC television show, has selected a number of his songs to be featured during the program, and he composed the theme for the popular radio talk show Bill Bennett’s Morning In America.

Stinnett tells us that Shenandoah Train contains 11 new tracks from Palmer Divide, with all but one being band originals.

Palmer Divide - Shenandoah Train“All the songs were written by the band except April’s Fool which was written by Eddy Lee Bullington.

Eddy passed away 3 years ago and was a tremendous songwriter, and our version is a tip of the hat to Eddy and his accomplishments.”

You can hear two of the tracks (Whiskey Row and Shenandoah Train) on the band’s MySpace page.

They have also put together a video interview that introduces the guys and their approach to bluegrass and acoustic music.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.