New IBMA Board members announced

The results from this year’s IBMA Board elections have been announced, where four, two-year seats were up for a vote. Board members are chosen in staggered, annual elections to maintain some constancy from year to year.

The IBMA Board consists of 19 members, primarily chosen by the individual constituencies which they are to represent, which match the various membership categories within the organization. Six seats are chosen as At Large representatives, selected by the voting membership as a whole. The Board is responsible for choosing its officers, and for making staff hiring decisions.

Three of the four seats up in 2011 saw their current occupants returned to the Board. From the IBMA press release:

  • Cindy Baucom, from Elkin, NC is an award winning broadcaster and host of the syndicated program Knee Deep in Bluegrass. She will continue to represent broadcast media members.
  • Donica Christenson, director of artist and media relations with Sugar Hill Records in Nashville, TN. This is her first term as an “at-large” representative (all members).
  • Craig Havighurst, founder/writer/producer for String Theory Media in Nashville, TN, was re-elected to represent print, media & education.
  • Carl Jackson, award winning performer, songwriter and producer from Gallatin, TN, represents artists, composers & publishers in his second term.

More information about IBMA leadership can be found online.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.