IBMA Special Awards

Oops… We neglected to post the list of IBMA’s Special Award winners, which were announced and distributed at a luncheon here in Nashville on Thursday afternoon.

  • 2006 Broadcaster of the Year: Red Shipley, WAMU-FM, Washington, D.C.
  • 2006 Bluegrass Event of the Year: The Joe Val Bluegrass Festival, produced by the Boston Bluegrass Union
  • 2006 Print Media Personality of the Year: Bob Black
  • 2006 Best Graphic Design For Recorded Project: Spencer Walts, Eyewerks Studio & Sarah Lainie Smith (designers) for She Waits For Night by Uncle Earl, Rounder Records
  • 2006 Best Liner Notes For Recorded Project: Tom Adams (writer) for Let ‚ÄòEr Go Boys by Michael Cleveland, Rounder Records

Distinguished Achievement Awards were also given to:

Fred Bartenstein
The Boys From Indiana
Bill Grant
Ronnie Reno
The Whites

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.