IBMA Awards Show lineup announced

The IBMA AwardsThe list of acts that will feature during this year’s IBMA Awards Show has been announced.

The IBMA Awards Show, hosted by revered singer and guitarist Del McCoury, will feature a stellar group of performers who will entertain the audience in between the presentation of the awards. The list includes some of this year’s top nominees Blue Highway, Dale Ann Bradley, Dailey & Vincent, The Del McCoury Band, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, The Grascals, The Infamous Stringdusters, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, The SteelDrivers, The Steep Canyon Rangers and others.

Among the others are the reigning Entertainers of the Year, The Grascals, who hope to take home the crystal trophies they have held in that category for the last two years.

Seven-time Vocal Group of the Year Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver will showcase their tight harmonies and showmanship, while songbird Dale Ann Bradley, reigning IBMA Female Vocalist of the Year, will give the audience a taste of why she is nominated again this year.

If that isn’t enough Cindy Baucom, who with Ned Luberecki has organized the event, had this to say about what’s in store for the night ‚Ķ..

“There will be some wonderful surprises! Bluegrass Fans will not want to miss this one!”

A highlight of the awards show will be the induction of this year’s Hall of Fame honorees–Bill Clifton, a pioneering artist, songwriter and international ambassador for bluegrass music, and the late author and historian, Charles K. Wolfe.

The current list of award presenters includes nominees Sierra Hull, Sonya Isaacs, Claire Lynch, Bradley Walker, Marshall Wilborn and Josh Williams, along with Terry Baucom, Ron Block, Larry Cordle, G2 Bluegrass Band, Carrie Hassler, Kathy Mattea, Lynn Morris, Alecia Nugent and Tony Trischka.

The International Bluegrass Music Awards are determined by the professional membership of the association and recognize outstanding achievement in the bluegrass genre. The show is syndicated to more than 300 radio stations across the country and around the world, and will be broadcast live on XM Satellite Radio, XM 14 Bluegrass Junction. National sponsors for the show include Martha White Foods, GACTV, GHS Strings, Pinecastle Records, MerleFest and Deering Banjos.

The star-studded event takes place on Thursday, October 2 on the stage of the historic Ryman Auditorium, the very place where bluegrass music was born. Tickets go on sale to the public on Friday, September 19, by calling the Ryman box office at 615-889-3060 or Ticketmaster at 615-255-9600.

Share this:

About the Author

Richard Thompson

Richard F. Thompson is a long-standing free-lance writer specialising in bluegrass music topics. A two-time Editor of British Bluegrass News, he has been seriously interested in bluegrass music since about 1970. As well as contributing to that magazine, he has, in the past 30 plus years, had articles published by Country Music World, International Country Music News, Country Music People, Bluegrass Unlimited, MoonShiner (the Japanese bluegrass music journal) and Bluegrass Europe. He wrote the annotated series I'm On My Way Back To Old Kentucky, a daily memorial to Bill Monroe that culminated with an acknowledgement of what would have been his 100th birthday, on September 13, 2011.