Davidsons come up big in Aussie awards nominations

wanderlustWhen the nominees were announced for the 2015 Australian Golden Guitar awards on Monday, there was great news for Aussie grassers The Davidson Brothers. Their names were called in four separate categories, including song awards for two tracks from their current Wanderlust CD.

Wanderlust was nominated for Alternative Country Album of the year, as was Living For The Moment by country-pop grasser Kristy Cox, and the brothers also received a nod for Group or Duo of the Year. The Instrumental of the Year category includes a nomination for Bottle Cappin’, Back Crackin’ Blues from Wanderlust, as well as Candle Creek from alt-grass group Mustered Courage.

The Davidsons also show up in the all-important bluegrass category.

Bluegrass Recording of the Year

  • Take Me to the Mountains – Davidson Brothers
  • Oh Ye Must Be Born Again – Dean Perrett
  • One Heartbreak Away – Kristy Cox
  • Kiss From A Rose – Mustered Courage
  • Making Hay – Simply Bushed

Congratulations and best of luck to all the nominees, and a hearty well done to everyone involved in the rapidly growing Australian bluegrass scene. Their take on the music isn’t necessarily the same as what the US market sees, just as one might expect. But it’s full of banjos, mandolins and fiddles – just the way we both like it.

The Golden Guitars Awards is a project of the Country Music Association of Australia, formed in 1992 to help promote the music written, recorded and performed on the continent. The 2015 awards will be announced and distributed during the Toyota Country Music Festival on January 24 at the Tamworth Regional Entertainment and Conference Centre in Tamworth, New South Wales.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.