Celebrating 50 Years Of Del McCoury

Celebrating 50 Years Of Del McCouryRejoice all you Del-heads! McCoury Music is preparing to release a 5 disc, definitive collection of the music of Del McCoury on May 12.

Celebrating 50 Years Of Del McCoury will include 50 tracks marking Del’s five decades in bluegrass, plus a 12 page color booklet.

All of the music was recorded with The Del McCoury Band, the bulk of it in a recent set of marathon sessions. These involved recutting better than 30 songs from the first 40 years of Del’s long career, coupled with 18 top tracks from his recent recordings.

The box set will retail for $49.95, or as Chris Harris with McCoury Music put it, “50 years/50 songs/50 dollars.” This is one every McCoury fan will want to own, and any serious collector of bluegrass music should have in their library.

Track listing follows:

Disc 1:

  1. I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
  2. Remembering
  3. Rain and Snow
  4. Are You Teasing Me?
  5. Dreams
  6. White House Blues
  7. Dark Hollow
  8. Lover’s Lane
  9. Don’t Stop the Music
  10. The Prisoner’s Song
Disc 2:

  1. Big Rock in the Road
  2. High on the Mountain
  3. Rain Please Go Away
  4. Pick Me Up On Your Way Down
  5. Good Man Like Me
  6. I’ve Endured
  7. Bluest Man In Town
  8. Don’t You Call My Name
  9. Evil Hearted Woman
  10. Loggin’ Man
Disc 3:

  1. Loneliness and Desperation
  2. I Feel the Blues Movin’ In
  3. Don’t Let My Love Get in the Way
  4. Who Showed Who
  5. Undone in Sorrow
  6. Take Me With You to the Mountains
  7. Eli Renfro
  8. Queen Anne’s Lace
  9. Nashville Cats
  10. Beauty of My Dreams
Disc 4:

  1. Cold Hard Facts
  2. Black Jack County Chains
  3. A Far Cry
  4. Black Jack County Chains
  5. 50/50 Chance
  6. City of Stone
  7. Never Grow Up Boy
  8. Asheville Turnaround
  9. Learnin’ the Blues
  10. Cheek to Cheek With the Blues
Disc 5:

  1. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
  2. Let An Old Racehorse Run
  3. Same Kind of Crazy
  4. I’m Afraid I Forgot the Feeling
  5. All Aboard
  6. It’s Just the Night
  7. Nothin’Special
  8. Unequal Love
  9. Milltowns
  10. My Love Will Not Change

The booklet is said to contain photos from the McCoury family archives, many of which have never been published.

Performing on the set are Del McCoury on guitar and lead vocals, Ronnie McCoury on mandolin, Rob McCoury on banjo, Jason Carter on fiddle, and both Alan Bartram and Mike Bub on bass.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.