Bill Monroe Appreciation Night at the Station Inn

Tomorrow (12/3) marks the 15th Annual Bill Monroe Appreciation Night at Nashville’s Station Inn. Each year during the holiday season, Music City’s bluegrass royalty get together to honor the man who started it all.

Saturday night’s show will be hosted by Roland White and Jon Weisberger, with a powerful list of pickers and singers. Roland’s group will serve as host band, with confirmed performances by Del McCoury, Pat Enright, Larry Stephenson, Kathy Chiavola, Missy Raines and Mike Compton on the docket.

Weisberger tells us that the announced artists is never the final word.

 “While the list of scheduled performers and guests is already plenty strong, there’s also a track record of unscheduled, unexpected appearances that are sometimes quite remarkable.

For those who have never been to one of these, they’re truly special, with all manner of one-of-a-kind combinations and ad hoc collaborations serving up beloved classics and overlooked treasures, all drawn from the Monroe catalog.”

Roland has also assembled a special youth group called The Bluegrass Young’Uns: Casey Campbell, Luke Munday, Merideth Goins, Justin Hiltner and Vickie Vaughn.

Showtime is 8:00 p.m. (CST) with 7:00 doors.

Sounds like a hoot. If you are in Nashville this weekend, give it a go.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.