2011 SPBGMA nominees announced

The nominees for the 2011 Awards from the Society for the Preservation of Bluegrass Music in America have been announced, and are posted on the SPBGMA web site.

There are a lot of familiar names in the list. Rhonda Vincent is up for a number of awards, and each of her band mates are nominated in their respective instrumental categories as well. Big Country Bluegrass shows up for both album and song of the year for The Boys In Hats  & Ties, and Tim Stafford’s name appears in the songwriter and guitar roster.

Perennial SPBGMA favorites The Grascals, Dale Ann Bradley, Doyle Lawson, Junior Sisk and Nothin’ Fancy are on the list, along with newcomers like Darin & Brooke Aldridge and many more.

Winners be be presented with their awards at the 37th annual Bluegrass Music Awards ceremony, held during the 28th annual SPBGMA National Convention which runs February 3-6, 2011 in Nashville.

Full details online.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.