Two new a cappella Gospel CDs

The Isaacs - Naturally: An Almost a Cappella CollectionOne now, another in October…

First up, the latest album from The Isaacs, Naturally: An Almost a Cappella Collection, is out on Spring House. It contains 16 new tracks from the reigning family in bluegrass Gospel music. Six of the songs are a cappella, and the rest featured only one or two instruments as accompaniment.

The songs come from writers familiar to fans of Gospel music – Bill and Gloria Gaither, Dottie Rambo and Sonya Isaacs. There is one from Larry Gatlin, and The Isaacs also include a remake of The Three Bells, the giant hit for Jim Ed Brown and The Browns in 1959.

  • Little Bit of Heaven
  • Hard Times Come Again No More
  • I Will Praise Him
  • Mama’s Teaching Angels How To Sing
  • Come My Child
  • Healin’ Stream
  • The Three Bells
  • No Shortage
  • He Can Be Found
  • Does Jesus Care?
  • Hallelujah
  • Hear The Voice of My Beloved
  • When God Seems So Near
  • There’s Something About That Name
  • Peace Be Still
  • It Is Well With My Soul

Audio samples can be found on The Isaacs’ web site and in iTunes.

Dailey & Vincent - Singing From The HeartDailey & Vincent, the current superstars of bluegrass harmony singing, have an a cappella collection in the works as well. Singing From The Heart will be released October 20 on Rounder Records.

This project, which includes a number of notable guest vocalists, will serve to benefit the Tennessee Bible College in Cookeville, TN. Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent started this project in 2001 to raise money for the school, well before they ever hatched their plan to perform and record together.

To fill out the quartets, they invited Andy Ball of Lonesome River Band, Shawn Lane of Blue Highway, Tony King (formerly with JD Crowe) and Molly Skaggs, the talented daughter of Ricky Skaggs and Sharon White. Even Doyle Lawson, Jamie’s former boss, gets in on the action, adding his baritone vocal on a track. Basses Glenn Dustin and Jeff Pearles also contribute.

Tennessee Bible College has always accepted all comers, regardless of an ability to pay, and proceeds from the CD will go to further that effort.

Tracks include:

  • Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
  • Near The Cross
  • Hide Me, Rock Of Ages
  • Farther Along
  • I Am Resolved
  • The Old Rugged Cross
  • Moses Smote The Water
  • Amazing Grace
  • Jesus Is Coming Soon
  • O To Be Like Thee
  • ‘Til I See You Face To Face
  • Don’t You Wanna Go To Heaven

Though released on Rounder, Singing From The Heart will not be in wide distribution, but offered primarily through Christian bookstores and resellers, the Tennessee Bible College and the Rounder and Dailey & Vincent web sites.

No audio samples up yet online that we could find.

UPDATE 9/16: Thanks to reader Brian Ison who found audio samples from Singing From The Heart at EMI/CMG Distribution’s site.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.