Two more Rebel classics from the vault

Rebel Records has two new digital re-issues, bringing long-unavailable bluegrass LPs back into the catalog for MP3 purchase. These two are from Rebel’s sister company, County Records: a pair of 1968 albums from The Coon Creek Girls, and Kenny Baker and Joe Green.

Lily Mae, Rosie & Susie was a reunion project for members of The Coon Creek Girls, who had been a very popular group on radio from the late 1930’s through the ’50s. Lily May Ledford led the group through numerous personnel changes during that time, and this album featured her along with her two sisters, Rosie and Susie.

Rebel tells us that this release marks the first time any Coon Creek Girls recordings have been offered for digital download, which may be irresistible for lovers of 20th century old time music.

Track listing:

  • Take Your Time Miss Lucy
  • White Oak Mountain
  • Red Rocking Chair
  • Hawk Caught The Chicken And Gone
  • Pretty Polly
  • I Have No Mother Now
  • How Many Biscuits Can You Eat
  • Little Birdie
  • Darling, Six Months Ain’t Long
  • Wild Bill Jones
  • Black Eyed Susie
  • East Virginia Blues
  • Going Down The Valley
  • Banjo Picking Girl

Here’s a listen to one of the tracks, White Oak Mountain: []

You can purchase Lily Mae, Rosie & Susie wherever downloads are sold, including iTunes.

When Kenny Baker recorded the twin fiddle record High Country for County with a young Joe Greene, he already had two stints with Bill Monroe under his belt and had returned to mine coal in Kentucky. County, and later Rebel, President Dave Freeman caught Kenny and Joe doing some twinning in a jam session at the historic 1966 bluegrass festival in Fincastle, VA that he arranged to have them cut this seminal recording.

Joining them in the studio were Vernon Lee Brown on guitar, Bill Grimes on banjo, Glenn Isom on mandolin, and Ray Hoskins on bass.

Track listing:

  • Boating Up Sandy
  • High Country
  • Reuben’s Ridge
  • Goldenrod Waltz
  • Birdie
  • Callahan
  • Live and Let Live
  • Friday Night Waltz
  • Stoney Creek
  • Done Gone
  • High Point
  • Leather Breeches

Here’s a sample from the title track: []

You can hear snippets from the whole album in iTunes.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.