Hartford reissues due in 2011

Great news for John Hartford fans.

At the IBMA Conference Panel “Steam-Powered: John Hartford and the Making of the Aereo-Plain Album” Wednesday morning, moderator Barry Mazor, with consent from Rhino Records, shared information that will warm the cockles of any serious Aereo-phile.

Rhino has announced that the long out of print albums Aereo-Plain and Morning Bugle, and related session material from those Warner Bros. releases, will be re-issued by Rhino next year – the 40th anniversary of the initial Aereo-Plain LP release in 1971. As Barry suggested, this album is often viewed as the precursor of the newgrass style that followed in its wake.

The album featured Hartford on banjo and fiddle, along with Norman Blake on guitar, Sam Bush on mandolin, Tut Taylor on resonator guitar, Vassar Clements on fiddle and Randy Scruggs on bass. David Bromberg produced.

Aereo-Plain also marked the debut of such Hartford classics as Steam Powered Aereo Plane, Vamp In The Middle and Up on the Hill Where They Do the Boogie. It will be marvelous to see it in distribution again, along with Morning Bugle which originally hit in 1972.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.