WSM live compilation includes McCoury, Grascals cuts

The legendary WSM AM 650 in Nashville, home of the Grand Ole Opry since 1925, has assembled a compilation album of live performances broadcast on the station over the last few years. Live From The Archives, Vol. 1 is set for a June 25 release.

As you might expect, most of the 13 music tracks feature country artists, but two grassers got the nod as well. Hello Lonely from the Del McCoury Band is included, as is Last Train To Clarksville from The Grascals.

Live contributions from Mark Wills, Billy Dean, Darrell Scott, Marty Raybon, Shawn Camp and The Time Jumpers are among the 16 tracks, which also feature 3 spoken selections. Vince Gill provides an introduction, and the National Radio Hall of Fame Induction of Ralph Emery by Reba McEntire is broken across a pair of tracks.

WSM Program Director, and the album’s Executive Producer, Joe Limardi, hints at more volumes to come.

Joe Limardi“A station with such historical value as WSM should have great moments not only preserved but shared with fans all around the world. This CD and future editions will ensure that, and be another chapter in our legendary story.

I hope true music fans enjoy this compilation of performances as much we did the first time we heard them.”

A full track listing can be found on the WSM web site.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.