New CD from Frank Wakefield

Frank WakefieldThe good folk at Patuxent Music are applying the finishing touches to what the liner notes describe as the first all-instrumental project from Frank Wakefield.

Ownself Blues (Patuxent CD-182) is a collection of 13 tunes of which Wakefield wrote 11. The others are classical pieces from Beethoven (Theme and Variations in D) and Bach (Bour?©e from Lute Suite in E minor).

10 of the Wakefield compositions are new original bluegrass tunes which he has written recently, and the other is a new recording of his enduring tune, New Camptown Races.

Dennis Satterlee, who wrote the liner notes for the CD, is excited by what he has heard …

“More than half of the tunes get you thinking of something or other Monroe wrote, but then Frank makes it his music at the same time. It is one of the best Wakefield projects I’ve heard in a long time.”

Michael Cleveland plays fiddle throughout, along with banjo veteran Mike Munford and up and coming guitar player Jordan Tice. Additional musicians are Audie Blaylock (rhythm guitar) and Darrell Muller (bass) round out the regular band. Taylor Baker (mandolin), Nate Leath (fiddle) and Jessie Baker (banjo) provide occasional input.

Tom Mindte, head of Patuxent Recordings in Maryland, is the producer. This is Mindte’s third Frank Wakefield project for Patuxent.

Ownself Blues should be available in January 2009.

The full list of titles follow ….

  • Ownself Blues
  • Saratoga Ride
  • Flying Strings
  • This is for Bill
  • Theme and Variations in D
  • The Runaway Train
  • The Old Cat Sneezed
  • New Camptown Races
  • Bour?©e from Lute Suite in E minor
  • Double Stoppin’ the Blues
  • Sabbatical
  • Rockville Special
  • Mandolin Solo # 2

Share this:

About the Author

Richard Thompson

Richard F. Thompson is a long-standing free-lance writer specialising in bluegrass music topics. A two-time Editor of British Bluegrass News, he has been seriously interested in bluegrass music since about 1970. As well as contributing to that magazine, he has, in the past 30 plus years, had articles published by Country Music World, International Country Music News, Country Music People, Bluegrass Unlimited, MoonShiner (the Japanese bluegrass music journal) and Bluegrass Europe. He wrote the annotated series I'm On My Way Back To Old Kentucky, a daily memorial to Bill Monroe that culminated with an acknowledgement of what would have been his 100th birthday, on September 13, 2011.