Chris Austin Songwriting winners announced

MerleFest has announced the winners in its prestigious Chris Austin Songwriting Contest.

All winners receive cash and merchandise prizes, and a chance to perform on tonight’s stage show.


1st – John Cloyd Miller (Asheville, NC) for Cloud of Dust
2nd – Todd Grebe (Nashville, TN) for Master of My Destiny
3rd – Aaron Burdett (Saluda, NC) for Magpie


1st- Melody Walker (San Francisco, CA) for Black Grace
2nd – Lorraine Jordan (Garner, NC) for Judgment Day
3rd – Kelsi Robertson Harrigill (Murfreesboro, TN) for Just Any Moment


1st – Eliot Bronson (Atlanta, GA) for Sad Town
2nd – Daniel Davis (Bristol, VA) for Homesick
3rd – Michaela Anne (Brooklyn, NY) for Lift Me Up


1st – Justin Wade Tam (Nashville, TN) for Cold Chicago
2nd – Ryan Tanner (Nashville, TN) for Days to Think of You
3rd – Ben Roberts & Emily Roberts (Nashville, TN) for Gold

Congratulations, one and all!

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.