Weisberger Elected IBMA Chairman

Jon WeisbergerVeteran songwriter and bass player Jon Weisberger was elected chairman of IBMA’s board of directors today, as the World of Bluegrass conference got underway in Raleigh, N.C.

Weisberger, who had been co-chairman, replaces Stan Zdonik, who was chairman for three years and spent a dozen years on the board. Cindy Baucom was elected vice-chairwoman.

Elizabeth Wightman, who had been serving as interim treasurer, was officially elevated to the post, and Craig Havighurst was chosen as secretary. He replaces Dan Keen.

“It’s a load off,” Zdonik joked as he left his final board meeting.

When Zdonik took office, IBMA was in a downward financial spiral.

“When I came in, I said to the membership, ‘it’s time for us to reinvent ourselves. After three years, I hope we’ve been successful in getting started down that path.”

Weisberger is a one of the most prolific songwriters in bluegrass these days, and was selected last year as IBMA’s first songwriter of the year. He’s also a journalist and plays bass with Chris Jones and the Night Drivers.

Share this:

About the Author

David Morris

David Morris, an award-winning songwriter and journalist, has written for Bluegrass Today since its inception. He joined its predecessor, The Bluegrass Blog, in 2010. His 40-year career in journalism included more than 13 years with The Associated Press, a stint as chief White House correspondent for Bloomberg News, and several top editing jobs in Washington, D.C. He is a life member of IBMA and the DC Bluegrass Union. He and co-writers won the bluegrass category in the Chris Austin Songwriting Contest at MerleFest in 2015.