Storyman coming from Sam Bush

Storyman - Sam BushMore news today from Sugar Hill Records…

June 24 is announced as the release date for Storyman, their 7th project for new grass legend Sam Bush. It will be Sam’s first project since Circles Around Me in 2009.

Bush, who also produced the new record, took more than four years to complete the sessions for Storyman, because he wanted to put the right songs together as a unit.

“It’s still important to me that all of the songs fit together on an album. I’m well aware that people buy individual tracks digitally, and that’s good. But I still think of it as an album—a body of work. And I’m really satisfied with these songs. It’s taken a while, but I sure am happy with them.

If there is a love in it, it’s the love of playing music together. When we play live on stage, if people can feel the joy we’re feeling, then we have succeeded. That’s the goal to me of playing music: Did the audience feel something?”

Sam has invited a number of his favorite vocalists to join him on the new project, including Canadian singer/songwriter Deborah Holland, country/Americana icon Emmylou Harris, and bluegrass superstar Alison Krauss.

Complete track listing follows:

  1. Transcendental Meditation Blues
  2. Play By Your Own Rules
  3. Everything Is Possible (w/ Deborah Holland)
  4. Greenbrier
  5. Lefty’s Song (w/ Alison Krauss)
  6. Carcinoma Blues
  7. Bowling Green
  8. Handmics Killed Country Music (w/ Emmylou Harris)
  9. Where’s My Love
  10. It’s Not What You Think
  11. I Just Wanna Feel Something

Look for more details about the album in the next few weeks.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.