New album coming from Rob & Trey

The Country Blues - Rob Ickes & Trey HensleyCompass Records has announced a July 8 release date for The Country Blues, the sophomore project from Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley.

Their unique sound is based on Rob’s stunning mastery of the reso-guitar and Trey’s soulful country/bluegrass singing and flatpicking guitar. Their act started as a side project when Rob was still a member of Blue highway, and Trey was working as a country artist, but the attention they received and the music they made convinced them to throw in together full time.

It’s rare for a new pairing like theirs to get such notice right out of the gate, but their debut album, Before The Sun Goes Down, drew a Grammy nomination for Best Bluegrass Album of 2016.

The Country Blues will also feature guest performances by Mike Bub on bass and John Alvey on drums, with additional guest spots from Ron Block, Vince Gill, Aubrey Haynie, Carl Jackson, Shawn Lane, Andy Leftwich, Robinella and John Randall Stewart.

Not too shabby.

Track listing follows:

  1. Ballad Of A Well Known Gun 
  2. Everywhere I Go is a Long Way from Home
  3. That’s What Leaving’s For
  4. Pray Enough 
  5. Leave My Woman Alone 
  6. I Won’t GIve Up My Train
  7. Biscuits and Gravy 
  8. Friend Of The Devil
  9. May You Never Be Alone
  10. Willie Jones
  11. One Way Out 


Rob Ickes & Trey HensleyYou can hear the added confidence from working together this past year or so all over the world in their polished, grass-inflected, alt-country sound. I’m sure Compass will be pushing this to Americana and country broadcasters in short order.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.