In The Ground from the Gibsons in February

Rounder Records has announced February 17, 2017 as the release date for In The Ground from The Gibson Brothers.

This will be the first album of all original material written by Leigh and Eric Gibson which the brothers will have released. Long known as talented writers, they have generally highlighted their own songs on band projects, but had never focused entirely on them until now.

In The Ground was recorded with their touring group: Eric Gibson on banjo, Leigh Gibson on guitar, Mike Barber on bass, Jesse Brock on mandolin, and Clayton Campbell on fiddle. Eric and Leigh handle the duet vocals, trading out on the leads, with Jesse dropping in a third part on occasion. Rob Ickes makes a guest appearance on reso-guitar.

To help announce the impending release, Rounder has shared a bit of the opening track, Highway, which will be the album’s first single.

Keep an eye out for more details about In The Ground as the release date draws near.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.