Bluegrass FM Provides Listing of SPBGMA Winners

Winners of Sunday’s 34th Annual SPBGMA Bluegrass Music Awards were announced on Bluegrass FM in Virginia which covered and reported from the event from Thursday through Monday in Nashville.

Some of its coverage including audio as well as photos will be posted on the website.

Bluegrass FM serves the Fredericksburg, VA area on 89.5 and Lynchburg, VA area on 91.7. Both stations are non-commercial and donor-supported and are the only 24/7 all-bluegrass broadcast stations in the country.

Here is the listing of SPBGMA music award winners:

Bluegrass Promoter of the Year: John & Fern Hutchinson, Amelia, VA.

Bluegrass Radio Station of the Year: WDVX-FM, Knoxville, TN.

Bluegrass DJ of the Year: Freddie Smith, WDVX-FM, Knoxville, TN.

Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year: Tom T. Hall/Dixie/Hall

Bluegrass Album of the Year: “The Road Headin’ Home” by Grasstowne for Pinecastle Records.

Bluegrass Bassfiddle Perfomer of the Year: Mickey Harris.

Dobro Performer of the Year: Phil Leadbetter.

Guitar Performer of the Year: Josh Williams.

Mandolin Performer of the Year: Danny Roberts.

Banjo Performer of the Year: Kenny Ingram.

Fiddle Performer of the Year: Hunter Berry.

Female Vocalist of the Year (Contemporary): Rhonda Vincent.

Female Vocalist of the year (Traditional): Alecia Nugent.

Male Vocalist of the Year (Contemporary): Larry Stephenson.

Male Vocalist of the Year (Traditional): James King.

Gospel Group of the Year (Contemporary): NewFound Road.

Gospel Group of the Year (Traditional): Paul Williams & the Victory Trio.

Vocal Group of the Year: Rhonda Vincent & the Rage.

Instrumental Group of the Year: The Grascals.

Bluegrass Band of the Year (Overall): The Grascals.

Song of the Year: “Lefty’s Old Guitar” by J.D. Crowe & the New South for Rounder Records.

Entertaining Group of the Year: Nothin’ Fancy.

Entertainer of the Year: Rhonda Vincent.