Another Reno & Harrell reissue from Rural Rhythm

Don Reno & Bill Harrell with The Tennessee Cut-UpsRural Rhythm Records has produced another classic reissue with the release of Don Reno & Bill Harrell with The Tennessee Cut-Ups.

Originally offered on LP in 1966, this record featured 20 bluegrass favorites by this stellar version of the band. In addition to Don Reno on banjo and tenor vocals and Bill Harrell on guitar and lead vocals, Ronnie Reno is on mandolin and George Shuffler on bass.

The track listing is representative of the most popular songs of the day.

  1. Under The Double Eagle
  2. I’m A Man Of Constant Sorrow
  3. Long Journey Home
  4. Red Rockin’ Chair
  5. Hot Corn – Cold Corn
  6. Footprints In The Snow
  7. Gotta Travel On
  8. Little Pal
  9. Nine Pound Hammer
  10. I Don’t Love Nobody
  11. Poor Ellen Smith
  12. The Great Speckled Bird
  13. Limehouse Blues
  14. Molly And Tenbrooks
  15. Whitehouse Blues
  16. When The Roses Bloom Again
  17. Nobody’s Business
  18. Dill Pickle Rag
  19. Keep On The Sunny Side
  20. Worried Man Blues


This represents the sixteenth edition in Rural Rhythm’s Heritage Collection Series, in which the make out-of-print titles from their catalog available again in both CD and digital download versions. In each they preserve the original LP artwork and liner notes, offering a new audience the opportunity to enjoy this music from an earlier time.

Already planned for 2015 release are similar reissues for Hylo Brown, Mac Martin, Jim Eanes, Wade Mainer, Dale Potter and Tater Tate.

Don Reno & Bill Harrell with The Tennessee Cut-Ups is available now wherever bluegrass music is sold.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.