The Definitive Doc Watson from Sugar Hill

The Definitive Doc WatsonSugar Hill Records has announced a a July 16 release for anew compilation project from the late Doc Watson.

The Definitive Doc Watson will contain 34 tracks on 2 CDs, covering selections from Watson’s time recording for both the Vanguard and Sugar Hill labels.

The Vanguard era began in 1962, and includes the early solo albums that launched this legacy performer to international stardom as a singer, guitarist, and folklorist. For many people, Doc’s music was their first glimpse into the folk music of the Appalachian region.

Later recordings, including several with his son, Merle, were released on the Flying Fish label. Both Vanguard and Flying Fish were acquired by the Welk Music Group, which also owns Sugar Hill. The last few Watson recordings were on Sugar Hill.

Taken together, Sugar Hill’s new compilation has access to Doc’s music from 1962 to 2005. Talk about a treasure trove!

Included are examples of Doc showcasing his flatpicking skills, and his penchant for interpreting folk, old time and bluegrass songs as a vocalist.

A track listing follows:

  • The Cyclone Of Rye Cove
  • St. Louis Blues
  • The House Carpenter
  • The Wagoner’s Lad
  • Anniversary Blue Yodel (Blue Yodel #7)
  • Sitting On Top Of the World
  • Black Mountain Rag
  • Country Blues
  • Weary Blues
  • Little Sadie
  • Dream Of the Miner’s Child
  • Southbound
  • Tennessee Stud
  • Blue Railroad Train
  • Georgie
  • Katie Morey
  • Matty Groves
  • Whistlin’ Rufus/Ragtime Annie
  • Big Spike Hammer
  • Listening To the Rain
  • Willie Moore
  • My Rough and Rowdy Ways
  • The Wreck Of the Number Nine
  • Omie Wise
  • Shady Grove
  • Watson’s Blues
  • Slidin’ Delta
  • Bright Sunny South
  • Greenville Trestle High
  • I’m Going Back To the Old Home
  • George Gudger’s Overalls
  • The Ninety and Nine
  • Your Lone Journey
  • Whiskey Before Breakfast


Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.