Ronnie King – Free Of Guilt

Ronnie King’s music occupies that hard-to define space between bluegrass and folk music. Some might call it Americana, but it is clearly informed by a thoroughgoing knowledge and appreciation for bluegrass. In fact, bluegrass fans may recall Ronnie from his time as a member of New River Line, based in Kentucky, with whom he recorded and performed from 2002-2006.

On Free Of Guilt, on Kindred Records, King’s original songs convey familiar folk/bluegrass themes of love, murder, humble roots, and hard work. His lyrics are cleverly written, avoiding the sort of triteness that is far too common in our music, and his melodies are soothing and comfortable on the ear.

Ronnie is also a fine singer whose vocals are complemented here by the incomparable Dale Ann Bradley. He is further assisted on Free Of Guilt by CJ Cain on guitar, Matt De Spain on resonator, Will Parsons on banjo, James Overbee on harmonica, Daniel Carwile on fiddle, Scott Lambert on drums, and Owen Reynolds on bass.

Here are a few samples of the music on the CD, with clips from all 12 tracks available at

Sweet Mary: []

Pretty Little Gypsy: []

Poor White Trash: []

Most of the material has this sort of easy-going, mid-tempo feel to it, though the instrumental that ends the CD, Yard Good, kicks things into a higher gear.

This is fine music – check it out.

Share this:

About the Author

John Lawless

John had served as primary author and editor for The Bluegrass Blog from its launch in 2006 until being folded into Bluegrass Today in September of 2011. He continues in that capacity here, managing a strong team of columnists and correspondents.